Skip to content Skip to navigation

Our Priorities

ASSU Special Committees

During Spring Quarter 2019, the ASSU recognized the need to change how it addresses student concerns and focus on incorporating more student input in its various initiatives, while also making the work that it does more transparent and readily available to the average student. With these goals in mind, the ASSU created 13 Special Committees, each focused on a specific aspect or project related to student advocacy on campus. ASSU President Erica Scott invited all members of the Stanford community in addition to various ASSU leaders to form and participate in these Committees. The names, chair contract information, and mission statement can be found in the following table, with links to detailed project information also provided.

Committee Name

Chairs Mission statement
Course Fees

Martin Altenburg
altenbur@assu.stanford.edu

Jeffrey Rodriguez
jeffreyr@assu.stanford.edu

 
Food Insecurity

Irán Roman
iran@assu.stanford.edu

Jeff Rodriguez
jeffreyr@assu.stanford.edu

 
Free Speech and Political Engagement

Eva Davis
ginevra@assu.stanford.edu

Taehwa Hong
taehwa21@stanford.edu

 
Disability Advocacy Rachel Wallstrom
rjwall@assu.stanford.edu
 
Gender Inclusion Eren Yürek
eeyurek@stanford.edu
 
Funding Projects to Improve Campus Life Tim Vrakas
timv@assu.stanford.edu
 
Sexual Violence and Relationship Abuse Prevention

Krithika Iyer
ksiyer@assu.stanford.edu

Sarah Saboorian
sarahsab@assu.stanford.edu

 
Community Responsibility Olivia Fu
oliviafu@assu.stanford.edu
 
Faculty Diversity Ana Tarano
atarano@stanford.edu
 
FLI Advocacy

Jeff Rodriguez
jeffreyr@assu.stanford.edu

Jennalei Louie
jennalei@assu.stanford.edu

 
Free Printing Credit Jonathan Lipman
jlipman@assu.stanford.edu
 
Elections Christian Giadolor
cgiad123@stanford.edu
 
Mental Health and Wellness

Jennalei Louie
jennalei@assu.stanford.edu

Julia Thompson
jlt7823@stanford.edu