Skip to content Skip to navigation

Executive Branch

About the Executives

The Executive Branch is led by the ASSU President and Vice President who are elected in the spring preceding the academic year of their term.  The ASSU President and Vice President oversee a team of cabinet members who are responsible for specific initiatives.  In the past, these initiatives have improved student life on campus via Title IX reform, the university-wide Long Range Planning process, office hours with administrators, and diversity initiatives- just to name a few.

This year, Munira Alimire and Vianna Vo serve as the ASSU President and Vice President, respectively.  Together, they are leading a team of student leaders focused on improving student life and access to resources.


Previous Executives

  • Erica Scott and Isaiah Drummond, 2019-2020
  • Shanta Katipamula and Rosie Nelson, 2018-2019
  • Justice Tention and Vicki Niu, 2017-2018
  • Jackson Beard and Amanda Edelman, 2016-2017
  • John-Lancaster Finley and Brandon Hill, 2015-2016
  • Elizabeth Woodson and Logan Richard, 2014-2015
  • Dan Ashton and Billy Gallagher, 2013-2014
  • Robbie Zimbroff and Will Wagstaff, 2012-2013
  • Michael Cruz and Stewart Macgregor-Dennis, 2011-2012
  • Angelina Cardona and Kelsei Wharton, 2010-2011
  • David Gobaud and Jay de la Torre, 2009-2010
  • Jonny Dorsey and Fagan Harris, 2008-2009
  • Hershey Avula and Mondaire Jones, 2007-2008
  • Elizabeth Heng and Lauren E. Graham, 2006-2007
  • Melanie Kannokada and Anete Okonkwo, 2005-2006
  • Chioke Borgelt-Mose and Kory Vargas Caro, 2004-2005
  • Nadiya Figueroa and Joseph Natoli, 2003-2004
  • Monica Henestroza and Nick Rodriguez, 2002-2003
  • Matt Brewer and Christine Cordero, 2001-2002
  • Seth Newton and Malia Villegas, 2000-2001
  • Michael Levin and John Mills, 1999-2000
  • Maren Norton and Santos Marroquin, 1998-1999
  • Emily Andrus and Ben Decker, 1997-1998
  • Bill Shen and Nick Thompson, 1996-1997

Change from Council of Presidents to President/Vice President

  • Mike Choo, Jon Oram, Rich Stolz and Nicole Vasquez, 1995-1996
  • Vanessa Alvarado, Anietie Ekanem, Lisa Lee and Mork Murdock, 1994-1995
  • Ron Brown, Ying Ying Goh, Delia Lopez and Jason Snyder, 1993-1994
  • Blake Ilstrup and Ed Mun, 1992-1993
  • John Louie, Beth Morgan, John Overdeck and Benny Sandoval, 1991-1992
  • Jamie Green, Goodwin Liu, Ingrid Nava and J. Forrest Tucker, 1990-1991
  • David Brown, Chin-Chin Chen, Aimee Allison and Ingrid Nava, 1989-1990
  • Leonard Adler, Maria Canas, Jim Durkin and Roechelle Smith, 1987-1988
  • Kim Crawford, Rodolfo Fuentes, Mary Thuber and Carey White, 1986-1987
  • Mike Collins, Andy Frisch, Leslie Leland and Tim Quirk, 1985-1986
  • Melissa Auchard, Todd Kerr, David Porter and Alice Wells, 1984-1985
  • Vinnie Freda, Peter Spivack, Su Uhland and Karol Watson, 1983-1984
  • Rod Beckstrom, Mark Epstein, Cynthia Mathewson and Yolanda Townsend, 1982-1983
  • Fred Buhl, Mariann Byerwalter, Chris Greene and Dragan Popov, 1981-1982
  • Dick Butterfield, Dayna Goldfine, Nancy Takahashi and Marc Ventresca, 1980-1981
  • Sibby Freeman, Mary LeBlanc, Laura Mead and Thom Gart, 1979-1980
  • Fred Estes, Andrew Goldenkranz, Mary Morimoto and Regina Petty, 1978-1979
  • Anne Henkels, Glenn Jordan, Greg Larson and Steve Westly, 1977-1978
  • Carol Houck, Deric Jennings, Vic Petroff and Al Tomaszczuk, 1976-1977
  • Dave Galligan, Charlotte Germane, Josie Jaramillo and Lee Rosenbaum, 1975-1976
  • Kevin O'Grady, Elisabeth Garfield, James Friend and Charles Ogletree, 1973-1974
  • Scott Burke, Elaine Wong, Peter Van Petten and B. Appel, 1972-1973
  • Douglas McHenry, Diane Fields, Ann Kimball and Larry Diamond, 1971-1972
  • Patrick C. Shea, Robert Grant, Adam Levin and Hal Michelson, 1970-1971
  • Patrick A. Shea, John Grube, Joyce Kobayashi and B. Askinas, 1969-1970

Change from President/Vice President to Council of Presidents

  • Dennis Hayes and Victor Von Schlegall, 1968-1969
  • Cesare Massarenti and Dennis Hayes, 1967-1968
  • David Harris and Peter Lyman, 1966-1967
  • William S. McKenzie and J. Clark Brown, 1965-1966
  • J Scott McBride and Mary Ann Odegaard, 1964-1965
  • Vernon Wedin Jr.  and Steven Aden, 1963-1964
  • Armin Rosencranz and Priscilla Ferguson, 1962-1963
  • Robert Sayler and Martha Sweeney, 1961-1962
  • Larry Royse and Sandy McCarty, 1960-1961
  • Richard Sundeen and Julie Hirsch, 1959-1960
  • Peter Bing and Dianne Goldman, 1954-1955